What the Rabbi Said

The place where I work makes kosher bread and, when we need him, a Rabbi comes to certify that equipment and processes meet certain standards. One day the Rabbi and I were watching the story on CNN about Hamas rockets hitting Israel and impending war. I asked him what he thought about the news and he said that God had a message for Israel and the world. He said that it was not true that there has been fighting for thousands of years. He said there have been long periods of peace between Israel and her neighbors. He also had something to say about the Palestinians but at this point, my memory begins to fade. I think he would agree that long-term prospects for peace are hindered by because the Palestinians want more territory including Jerusalem and, ultimately, the destruction of Israel.

Although the situation seems impossible, the Rabbi did not give me the sense that he favored military action as a first choice. I think he would have preferred peace to conflict if possible. I did not have time to pursue his thoughts on God’s message for us so that will have to remain a mystery until we meet again, if ever. Most likely, his thoughts focused on bringing peace to our broken world.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.